Pick a path and stick to it

How do you know that you are on the right career path? What if you don’t know what you are planning to do with your career? What if you don’t know how to get there? How do you overcome the obstacles in the way?

Those are some of the questions that mull through my head as I try to sort out what to do with my life. I am married, have a university degree religious studies, have a series of health problems and have absolutely no idea what I actually want to commit to as a career. I have been told by some that I should go on to be a Speech Language Pathologist, others have said Dietitian, others still Aesthetics. My experience is in teaching and tutoring, though I did not complete teacher’s college.

Ideally, I want to go on to become a university professor teaching theology. Unfortunately, life is not ideal and neither is my heal, which puts a serious kink in the timeline of feasibly being able to complete those years of study without some other reasonable career-like job in the interim. My husband is on his way to become a police officer after years of experience in the security industry, and I am stuck reflecting on how I can help to provide for our family as well. Most things require more training than I have, which I do not mind undertaking. What I am stuck at is deciding what makes the most sense to dedicate that time into while knowing my limitations and working within them.

I feel like I almost have too many options, so for now, I will look prayerfully and continue with improving my health as I tutor online from home.

Leave a Reply

